D.R. Patti & Associates

Can You Turn Right on Red in Nevada?

Photo of Transportation at Night

Yes, you can turn right on red in Nevada, but you need to follow certain safety precautions. Many accidents occur during right turns on red in Nevada. Between 2016 and 2020, about 20% of traffic fatalities occurred due to angled collisions, with many happening at red lights.

Are you a car driver, motorcyclist, or bicyclist who suffered injuries while turning right on red? If so, continue reading this blog post. It discusses everything you need to know.

Nevada Traffic Laws Regarding Right Turns on Red

Generally, the law does not prohibit you from making a right turn on red. It only requires you to take the following precautions for your safety:

  • Come to a complete stop: Before making the right turn, you must first come to a complete stop behind the crosswalk or stop line.
  • Rightmost lane: Your vehicle must be in the extreme right lane. Otherwise, it would increase the chances of a rear-end accident.
  • Crosswalks must be empty: The law only allows you to take a right turn when no pedestrians are in the crosswalk. It doesn’t matter whether they are following the rules or not. Do not make the right turn when pedestrians are in a crosswalk. You must yield the right of way to all pedestrians in the crosswalk.
  • Ensure there is no oncoming traffic: When you see oncoming traffic, you should not take the right turn. It increases the chances of a collision or even a roll-over accident. Therefore, the law wants you to ensure that there is no oncoming traffic.

Further Restrictions

  • Restriction signs: Some intersections in Nevada handle heavy traffic, making it highly unsafe to take a right on red. These intersections have a specific sign saying, ‘No Right Turn on Red’ and a red turn arrow for your awareness.
  • School Buses: Any driver must stop when encountering a school bus from either direction when students are boarding or departing or the bus displays flashing red lights. Therefore, you must not make a right turn to avoid violation of the law.

Consequences of Violating Right Turn on Red Regulations in Nevada

The consequences of violating the above rules can be severe and categorized into three parts:

Demerit Points

Having demerit points on your driver’s license record impacts insurance rates and may result in increased premiums.

The number of points added to your driving record depends on the violation. But three points are usually added to your driver’s license if you don’t follow the above guidelines and no serious crashes occur while turning right on red.


The fine amount also varies depending on your circumstances. The minimum fine you can face is $50 and can go up to $1000.


Failure to follow guidelines makes right turns risky and can cause collisions. These collisions can be fatal, depending on the situation. In 2020, 89 fatalities occurred at intersections in Nevada.

Schedule a Free Consultation to Discuss Your Right-Turn-On-Red Accident Case With Us

If you suffered injuries while turning right on red in Nevada, discuss it with us.

D.R. Patti & Associates is an exclusive personal injury law firm. Our lawyers have helped many residents who suffered injuries from car accidents on Nevada roads. It doesn’t matter whether you are a pedestrian, motor vehicle driver, or bicyclist. We represent all types of victims and can help you recover the compensation you deserve.

Call us at (702) 500-7070 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation today. We can hold the at-fault party accountable for their negligence.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top